How The Hell Am I Turning 22?

Ekechi Deborah Chinwendu
2 min readApr 15, 2023

--

Photo by OSPAN ALI on Unsplash

So, I was thinking (as usual) and I realised I am going to be turning 22 next month, damn! I still can’t believe it, you know. It feels like time’s moving so fast, I am getting older and I can’t do anything about it. I want to stop time, take a while to process the fact that I am actually turning 22. I can’t really say if I’m happy about it or not. Of course I am grateful for life, good health, for my family and everyone I love and care about but...I can’t really say how I feel about it.

I remember when I turned 21, I was incredibly happy. I seemed to be getting everything I ever wanted and had just gained admission into a University whose soil I never thought I would ever step my feet upon. It was a school for the rich kids and I knew exactly where I was coming from. I tried my best to put aside my introversion and make friends and when it felt like I was finally fitting in, it all came crashing down.

I am happy for the girl I was and the woman I am gradually becoming. Life has taught me a lot of lessons, one that I would never forget in a hurry. It has taken away people from me; I didn’t understand initially but now I do, it has opened my eyes and given me the ability to view things from a whole different perspective, it has broken me into pieces and re-built me into the person that I am now and I’m indeed grateful for that.

I do not regret any mistake, any loss, any rejection, any disappointment that I have had to go through because I believe they were meant to be, I believe they were meant to design me for better things which I know are yet to come. I may not be where I want to at this point in my life but...I believe I am supposed to pass through this stage to get to that place meant for me. I also believe I will eventually get used to the fact that I’m going to be…22.

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Ekechi Deborah Chinwendu

Writer | Poet | Reader. This blog is aimed at teaching poetry and reaching poets and aspiring poets while also sharing life's lessons.